Council Standing Committees 2017-2021

1. Administration and Finance

Chair: Councillor Tony Pollard
Member: Deputy Mayor Trina Appleby
Staff: Chief Administrative Officer
Staff: Director of Corporate Services 

  • Financial statement reporting and auditing
  • Development and management of the annual operating budget and capital out of revenue
  • Preparation of the Annual Fees and Permits Schedule
  • Assessment and Taxation
  • Accounts Payable and recommendations for payment
  • Tax collection policy
  • External audit report and recommendations
  • Appointment of auditors, legal services and insurance agents
  • Procurement policies and compliance with the Public Tendering Act
  • Administer tender processes in conjunction with all Departments
  • Developing and implementing a capital asset management system in conjunction with Public Works
  • Accountability, transparency, internal controls, financial planning, information technology, records management, procurement, risk management and insurance, sponsorships and donations
  • Liaise with the Municipal Assessment Agency
  • Strategic Planning
  • Internal and external branding, corporate image and customer service
  • Policies and Procedures
  • Occupation, Health and Safety
  • Compensation and Benefits
    • Compensation and benefits for CAO, Senior Management and non-unionized staff
    • Human Resources
    • Collective Bargaining
    • Recruitment and Retention
    • Training and Development
    • Performance, productivity and discipline
    • Hiring, discipline and dismissal decisions concerning senior management
    • Town’s Succession Plan including specific development plans and career planning
  • CAO’s Performance Evaluation
  • Municipal elections, by-elections, plebiscites or referenda
  • Setting strategy and dealing with existing and potential regional service matters
  • Fostering partnerships in other matters requiring regional cooperation
  • Standing Committees Terms of Reference

2. Economic Development and Tourism                                                  

Chair: Deputy Mayor Trina Appleby
Member: Councillor Justin Martin
Staff: Economic Development and Tourism Officer

  • Promotion, marketing, media and advertising for the Town
  • Shop Local
  • Business Attraction, Retention and Expansion
  • Tourism Development
  • Monitoring and Implementation of the Tourism Master Plan
  • Monitoring and Implementation of the Economic Development Strategic Plan
  • Identification of Funding Opportunities and Proposal Development
  • Communications, Public Relations and Public Engagement

3. Infrastructure and Public Works

Chair: Councillor Mary Thorne-Gosse
Member: Councillor Tony Pollard
Staff: Director of Infrastructure and Public Works

  • Maintenance and snow clearing of streets and sidewalks
  • Construction and maintenance of infrastructure, parks, trails, playfields, open spaces and the Upper Three Corner Pond Park Complex Infrastructure
  • Maintenance of Town Buildings
  • Public Parks and Playground safety
  • Development and implementation preventive maintenance and inventory systems
  • Developing specifications, bid documents and recommending tender awards
  • Sanitation and waste disposal systems
  • Monitor waste management systems
  • Maintenance of water, sewer and storm water systems
  • Capital projects, including infrastructure, buildings and recreation facilities
  • Engineering services
  • Fleet Maintenance and Replacement Strategy
  • Public Transportation
  • Project management – construction projects – facilities and capital works
  • Speed Calming and Pedestrian Safety – Maintenance
  • Animal Control
  • Ensure all emergency planning responsibilities are adequately met
  • Provide policy guidance and determine priorities for the Town’s Emergency Preparedness Plan Development
  • Monitoring and amending of the Emergency Preparedness Plan
  • Establish communication links with key community and regional stakeholder to ensure coordination and collaboration regarding issues and activities relating to emergency preparedness

4. Planning and Land Use Development

Chair: Councillor Justin Martin
Member: Councillor Mary Thorne-Gosse
Staff: Director of Planning and Development
Resource: Commissionaires

  • Monitoring, implementing and amending the Municipal Plan and Development Regulations
  • Town Plan Amendments
  • Subdivision and development applications and agreements
  • Public Consultation Processes related to Land Use Planning
  • Compliance to Urban and Rural Planning Act and Provincial and Federal Regulations
  • Development control services
  • Consult with the community and interest groups in matters relating to land use and planning
  • Real estate and land management
  • Northeast Avalon Regional Plan
  • Matters impacting protection of the environment
  • Member will serve as Council’s representative on the Environment Advisory Committee
  • Liaison to Stewardship Association of Municipalities (SAM)
  • Neighborhood Security (From PSPS Committee)
  • Enforcement of Municipal By-Laws (From PSPS Committee)
  • Speed Calming and Pedestrian Safety Requests – Planning (From PSPS Committee)
  • Municipal Water Supply Planning and Development
  • Climate Change
  • Storm Water Management
  • Nature Conservancy of Canada

5. Recreation and Community Services

Chair: Councillor Geoff Gallant
Member: Councillor Peggy Roche
Staff: Director of Recreation and Community Services

  • Liaison with community groups, sport organizations, business community and schools
  • Aims and objectives for the development and delivery of Recreation, Leisure, Arts and Culture Services for all residents including youth and seniors
  • Promotion of active, healthy and positive lifestyles
  • Developing and delivering special events and major community events
  • Beautification of the Town
  • Tidy Towns and Communities in Bloom
  • Snow Treasures Celebration
  • Monitoring and implementation of the Recreation Master Plan
  • Operation of The Torbay Common (Building and Site)

Liaison Committees

Atlantic Mayors Congress    
Mayor Craig Scott

Intergovernmental Affairs – Federal, Provincial, Municipal
Mayor Craig Scott

Jack Byrne Regional Sports and Entertainment Centre
Deputy Mayor Trina Appleby and Councillor Tony Pollard

Northeast Avalon Joint Council
Councillor Mary Thorne-Gosse (Alternate Mayor Craig Scott)

Royal Newfoundland Constabulary
Mayor Craig Scott

Torbay Volunteer Fire Department
Councillor Justin Martin

Urban Municipalities Committee
Mayor Craig Scott (Alternate Councillor Mary Thorne-Gosse)

Standing Committee Meeting Schedule


Council Week

6:30PM – Public Council Meeting

6:30PM – Economic Development and Tourism

Off Week

6:30PM – Committee of the Whole

5:30PM – Planning, Land Use and Development
5:30PM – Recreation and Community Services

8:30AM – Infrastructure and Public Works

6:30PM – Administration and Finance

The Mayor is an ex-officio member of all committees and the Chief Administrative Officer may attend each committee meeting at her discretion.



Community Events